Lundy
One estate, one timetable: the Landmark Trust's own ship sails from Bideford or Ilfracombe in summer, a Hartland Point helicopter is the only link in winter, and once ashore everyone walks.
- Researched
- 28 September 2026
- Reviewed
- not yet
- Ways of moving
- 7, 11 sources
- Not confirmed
- 5
- Fares seen
- 2026
7 ways of moving, each with its rule
We confirmed six ways of moving to, from or around Lundy: two by water, one by air, two by road and one under your own steam, from 11 sources. One entry is not a service at all but a rule that decides whether travel happens: a permit, a closure, a border, a season or an authority's say-so. Three of them run only on demand or when the seats are full, so there is no timetable to show; the rule is written where the timetable would be. Three need a phone call or a message before you turn up.
The fares were seen in 2026; a fare from an older year is a floor, not a price. We rate 5 of the 7 high confidence, our own judgement of the sources. The entry was checked on 28 September 2026, and ends with five things we could not confirm.
By water
MS Oldenburg – Bideford/Ilfracombe to Lundy
Bideford Quay or Ilfracombe Harbour to Lundy jetty, depending on tides
Book through the Landmark Trust; check-in is at whichever port that sailing uses, given on the ticket
- When
- Late March to late October only, up to four times a week; typically Tuesdays, Thursdays and Saturdays with extra Wednesday sailings in July–August
- Takes
- Under two hours
- Fare 2026
- 2026: day return £59 adult / £54 concession / £30 child (under 16) / free under 4; staying period return £100 adult / £54 child / £25 infant
SeasonEnd of March to end of October; the island has no other sea link in this window. BookingDay returns bookable online; period (staying) returns by phone on 01271 863636. Run byThe Landmark Trust (Lundy Company).
Own boat or yacht to the Landing Bay
Any private vessel to the sheltered anchorage and slipway at the Landing Bay
Anchor or moor in the Landing Bay; the slipway is next to the jetty used by MS Oldenburg
- When
- on demand – whenever a visitor's own craft arrives
- Takes
- not stated
- Fare 2026
- a landing fee applies; no figure published on the operator's site
Seasonyear-round, weather and sea state permitting. Bookingno ticket; pay the landing fee on the island. Run byprivate, subject to Landmark Trust permission and fee.
By air
Winter helicopter – Hartland Point to Lundy
Hartland Point heliport (about 20 miles west of Bideford) to the helipad on Lundy
Book through the Landmark Trust; drive to Hartland Point and check in, weight in kilograms is asked at booking
- When
- Winter dates only, on Mondays and Fridays; 2026/27 flying weeks run 26 Oct–2 Jan and 25 Jan–22 Mar
- Takes
- About seven minutes
- Fare 2026
- 2026: return £184 adult / £102 child (under 16) / £28 infant (under 2)
SeasonThis is the only way in or out once the MS Oldenburg season ends in late October. BookingBook ahead by phone; seats allocated across the day's flights at check-in, 10kg luggage limit per person. Run byThe Landmark Trust, chartered helicopter.
Rules, permits and closures
Sailing cancellations for sea and weather
Any MS Oldenburg crossing
Not something to plan around in advance; the ship's captain decides on the day
- When
- on demand – a live weather and sea-state call each sailing day, not a fixed schedule
- Takes
- n/a
- Fare 2026
- no separate fare; a subsidised helicopter transfer at £56 adult / £19 infant is offered when a paid sailing is cancelled, subject to flying conditions
SeasonYear-round risk, most disruptive in the winter helicopter window when there is no ship as a backup. BookingDay trippers whose sailing is cancelled can rebook another date or get a refund; no refunds once a sailing has actually run. Run byThe Landmark Trust; the ship's master makes the call.
By road
Sail-one-way, helicopter-one-way transitional ticket
One leg by MS Oldenburg, one leg by helicopter, at the spring/autumn changeover between the two seasons
Ask the Landmark Trust booking line when travelling right at the season changeover
- When
- on demand – only available twice a year, at the start and end of the ship season
- Takes
- sea leg under two hours, air leg about seven minutes
- Fare 2026
- 2026: £166 adult / £90 child / £28 infant for the combined one-way pair
SeasonThe short window either side of the ship's late-March/late-October changeover. BookingBy phone through the Landmark Trust. Run byThe Landmark Trust.
Bideford–Ilfracombe coach transfer for MS Oldenburg passengers
Bideford Quay to Ilfracombe Harbour or reverse, for sailings that dock at a different port than they departed
Booked as an add-on when buying an Oldenburg ticket, for the specific tide-dependent sailings listed on the timetable
- When
- tied to the sailings that swap ports, not a standalone timetable
- Takes
- not stated
- Fare 2026
- 2026: £13.50 per person, free under 2
SeasonSummer sailing season, only on the affected crossings. BookingBook at the same time as the ferry ticket. Run byThe Landmark Trust.
On foot, by bike, or otherwise
On foot around the island
The whole island – jetty to village, Old Light, both lighthouses, the north and south ends
One track runs the island's length from the jetty past the village; side paths reach the coast and lighthouses
- When
- always available
- Takes
- a full walk around the island takes several hours
- Fare 2026
- free
Seasonyear-round. Run byn/a.
What we could not find out
5 things the researcher looked for and did not find, in their own words, with where to ask instead. None of this goes into the planner; it stays here until someone confirms it.
- 01
No source found gives a landing fee figure for private boats, yachts or aircraft; ask the Landmark Trust office (01271 863636) or the warden on arrival.
- 02
The brief describes a single Land Rover track and 'no cars for visitors' as one fact; the only confirmation found is that no vehicles are allowed except a few used by the farmer and the Landmark Trust – no source names a Land Rover specifically, so that detail is not verified here.
- 03
The brief frames the winter helicopter as running continuously November to March; the Landmark Trust's own 2026/27 dates show it operating in two blocks (26 Oct–2 Jan and 25 Jan–22 Mar), so there are short gaps inside the winter season worth checking before travel.
- 04
Private aircraft and helicopters can use Lundy's grass airfield or village helipad with advance permission, per the operator's site, but no landing fee or permission process is published beyond 'advance permission is required'.
- 05
Older editions of the Lundy Wikivoyage article quote 2010s-era fares (£40/£37/£21 day return, £125/£67 helicopter) well below the Landmark Trust's current 2026 prices – treated here as stale and not used.
What the planner can route today
The options above live on the place page, not in the departure board: a boat that comes when you phone has no time to show. What the board can do for Lundy is this.
- Y
- Scheduled flightsCardiff (CWL), 95 km
- Y
- Trains and coachesTransitous carries 3 timetable feeds for this country, 2 with real-time
- N
- Ferriesno crossing within 25 km
- Y
- Driving and taxiOpenStreetMap roads; cab fare from the country band
- N
- Bike and scooter shareno share feed known
- N
- Cruisesno open itinerary source anywhere
Y routable now · F found, not yet implemented · N no source known.